Good ol’ computer humour

So I was compiling GTK-Gnutella today and thier autogen.sh file requires quite a bit of user imput. Here are some screenshots you may find funny

screenshot2.png

screenshot3.png

screenshot4.png

Heh. Sadly, My system KP’d when it compiled. Some kind of infinite loop. Godammit. Look’s like I’ll have to find a package.

Oh and did I tell you that I am working on a simple configuration tool for compiz itself. The libcompizconfig bindings are soo much easier than Gconf, About half the lines I used to have to write. And you don’t have to know the type! The setting just holds a value, and you can set a new value by equating it. For example

core.Screens[0][“hsize”].Value

just holds an int of 4, but I can easily change that to 5 with

 core.Screens[0][“hsize”].Value = 5

then writing it with

context.Write()

The same also goes for boolean, string and float values! You dont need to go into gconf anymore and the have

set_string

set_float

set_int

set_bool

for __every_single_setting__ !

To get a value, just use

value = plugin.Screen (/Display for display options)[ScreenNum (Usually 0)][“option_name”].Value

And that will return an interger if it is an int type, a number (with decimals) if it is float, a string if it is a string and True / False if it is bool! Execellent. And to set a value, instead of jumping through hoops with set_value_blah(args), you just set a new definition for the setting!

value = plugin.Screen (/Display for display options)[ScreenNum (Usually 0)][“option_name”].Value = foo

*Applauds CompizConfig-Python devs*

Blog will be up tommorow or the day after. Screenshots of my config tool will be out soon. This time I used glade! (But I won’t rant about how good glade is ’cause I’m out of time 😉 Long story short : It’s much simpler and easier to follow)

– Sam