Good ol’ computer humour

So I was compiling GTK-Gnutella today and thier autogen.sh file requires quite a bit of user imput. Here are some screenshots you may find funny

screenshot2.png

screenshot3.png

screenshot4.png

Heh. Sadly, My system KP’d when it compiled. Some kind of infinite loop. Godammit. Look’s like I’ll have to find a package.

Oh and did I tell you that I am working on a simple configuration tool for compiz itself. The libcompizconfig bindings are soo much easier than Gconf, About half the lines I used to have to write. And you don’t have to know the type! The setting just holds a value, and you can set a new value by equating it. For example

core.Screens[0][“hsize”].Value

just holds an int of 4, but I can easily change that to 5 with

 core.Screens[0][“hsize”].Value = 5

then writing it with

context.Write()

The same also goes for boolean, string and float values! You dont need to go into gconf anymore and the have

set_string

set_float

set_int

set_bool

for __every_single_setting__ !

To get a value, just use

value = plugin.Screen (/Display for display options)[ScreenNum (Usually 0)][“option_name”].Value

And that will return an interger if it is an int type, a number (with decimals) if it is float, a string if it is a string and True / False if it is bool! Execellent. And to set a value, instead of jumping through hoops with set_value_blah(args), you just set a new definition for the setting!

value = plugin.Screen (/Display for display options)[ScreenNum (Usually 0)][“option_name”].Value = foo

*Applauds CompizConfig-Python devs*

Blog will be up tommorow or the day after. Screenshots of my config tool will be out soon. This time I used glade! (But I won’t rant about how good glade is ’cause I’m out of time😉 Long story short : It’s much simpler and easier to follow)

– Sam

8 thoughts on “Good ol’ computer humour

  1. Hmm… younger folks probably don’t know that “yellow pages” aka yp aka NIS was a system developed by Sun to facilitate the management of groups of computers.

    (It’s been a gazillion years since I’ve managed NIS so bear with me if the following explanation is not totally on target.)

    Basically, instead of having to distribute a file like /etc/hosts or even /etc/passwd to a group of computers and have to keep them in sync manually, those files would be managed on a NIS server. The various machines that are managed together would query that server to get the content of those files.

    So a question like “are you getting the hosts file via yellow pages” makes perfect sense to those who know what “yellow pages” mean.

  2. lemur, if that is the case why is “no” the only option. Doesn’t that mean there is a chance someone actually is using yellow pages?

  3. TheBlackCat, I’ve never compiled GTK-Gnutella. For all I know the “[n]” in brackets could just be the default answer if someone just hits return.

    But heck, I did the work you were not prepared to do and downloaded the source. Guess what I found in the source? This ought to be proof enough for you:

    : see if we have to deal with yellow pages, now NIS.
    if $test -d /usr/etc/yp || $test -d /etc/yp || $test -d /usr/lib/yp; then

  4. I tried using glade too to make something really simple, but…. It got confusing😦

    Any good glade tutorials? I found one but it didn’t go into details about python.

    Oh well, I’m working on it.

  5. lemur : Heh, very interesting point there😉. Traditionally, the yellow pages is actually a book provided by the government (at least it is here) of a directory of common businesses and contact details. There’s your pun😉

  6. smspillaz, I understood where the perception of humor came from and I do agree it would seem humorous to somebody who does not know NIS. I don’t blame anyone for that. Heck, I laugh at things that would seem normal to most people.

    However, some of the screen captures are clearly attempts at humor on the part of the programmers whereas the question about yellow pages is not intentionally humorous. It is in fact a serious question and should be treated as such (possibly after a good laugh if it strikes the user as humorous).

Leave a Reply

