Black Window Bug Fixed?

User spiorf has just reported to me that the NVIDIA Black Window Bug – where new windows would open as black as Video Ram was exhausted has finally been fixed in the NVIDIA Driver 100.14.19.

spiorf reported that his system had 1GB of RAM, 128 MB of VRAM and that he used to face the bug with about 10-20 windows open. He posted a screenshot of his desktop with 40 windows open and blur enabled. He also reported that the Black VT swictch bug is gone too!

This is a great day for Compiz NVIDIA users. A great day

UPDATE : I was just told that the Black VT bug came along after the 3 time the VT was switched. That’s too bad I guess. Although it is probably now safe to use Compiz with Direct Rendering

– Over and out! – Sam

14 thoughts on “Black Window Bug Fixed?

  1. 1GB RAM
    Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 256MB

    previously 7 openoffice windows gave me black windows

    now i can have more than 50 without a single black window because of this driver😀

    damn i’m so happy😀

  2. YESSSSS!!! I losted all the black windows with the new driver🙂
    Now I do not envy Mac users anymore!

    For the Gnome Ubuntu beginner that does not know how to stop the graphic environment (needed to install the nvidia driver):
    press [CTRL][ALT][1]
    {login}
    sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop
    sudo /{path to the driver}/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-100.14.19-pkg1.run
    {follow the instructions}
    sudo /etc/init.d/gdm restart

    enjoy

  3. They do not say the bug be fixed. Just the memory handling improved. I’ve not yet been able to show any black window since I’ve installed the new drivers though. :)))

  4. ops… after a complete day without any problem my system started to show the black window ‘effect’ again.
    Not so frequent as it was before the new driver but there is still space to improve it; unless its something to be fixed in compiz-fusion.
    We will see…

  5. @M.F.: I have the same card, and I’ve been using the binary drivers from the nvidia site for quite a while now, just as the one mentioned – so: yes, it does🙂
    I can confirm that the black windows become less frequent, but I can also confirm that they’re still there – just try to turn on reflection and open a few windows – there it is!😦

  6. NVIDIA driver 100.14.19 on a GeForce FX Go5200 64M shows little improvement. After about 15 screens it’s pitchblack again..

  7. Having read this I believed it was very informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this content together.
    I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading
    and posting comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

