They say when you start something….

…. You have to finish it.

I’ve implemented a sort of Mac OS X ‘sheets’ animation in the simple-animations plugin. It is designed to work with dialog boxes so that they appear to ‘roll out’ of the top of the window. The animation is there, I just haven’t got parent window detection to work with dialogs yet and haven’t put window placement code in. Once that is done it should look (somewhat) realistic without violating the hidden patent I probably don’t know about. You’ll need cornelius’ recent changes in animation in order for it to compile however.

Video Link for Planet Users

Also, while I was doing that I implemented a user-suggested animation by coz, in a new animation called ‘Expand’, which basically scales out on the X Axis faster than the Y Axis.

Video Link for Planet Users

Also, I fixed a really annoying bug with ‘Bounce’ that would make it play incorrectly after it had been played once.

I’ve had reports from users that it doesn’t compile / doesn’t load. I don’t get those problems here and my local copy is totally in sync with git. I’m wondering if this is a glitch with git that has been resolved now. Let me know if it still doesn’t work.

Another thing too. I’ve started to h4x0r on animation to implement some of my ideas. Git link is as below:

git clone git://git.compiz-fusion.org/users/smspillaz/animation

You probably won’t find the code all that interesting, right now I’m just putting markers in / modularizing stuff to make my life easier when I split the plugin in two. It’s definitely not ready for anything, and will probably break at any time.

– SmSpillaz

9 thoughts on “They say when you start something….

  1. It seems you have never ever seen the sheet animation on a mac. This has nothing to do with it, sorry.
    And is still ugly, all animations that transform the window in the Z dimention look ugly, I don’t know why but there is this “edging” that makes it look ugly.

  2. For a more effective animation, you’d have to compress and curve just the top during the first part of the animation, and then have the whole window slide through that same curve (opposite for opening a window).

  3. general question: How do you record these movies? when using gtk-recordMyDesktop, my movies are scrambled by black boxes appearing rapidly at random places (screenshots are affected as well sometimes)

  4. smspillaz: Is there anything special one has to do to avoid these graphic glitches when recording? You often see them on youtube as well (nvidia driver v177 here)

  5. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a comment