Another status update

A quick update of where we are at the moment 🙂

First of all, some eyecandy

Those are the cubemodel and atlantis plugins, of which are arguably quite complex. Regardless of their size, I actually managed to get them done within a day for each (so about ~4h), which is good considering atlantis is over 8000 LOC (most of it autogenerated). I’ve refined my porting technique to use member variable prefixing, of which I wish I knew about earlier, since it would have saved me sooo much time debugging silly typoes at runtime.

On the more serious front, I merged in my 2D GTK Window Decorator changes, which was quite a feat considering Danny and I had to rewrite the entire event handler to make the 2D Mode work (because of fundamental differences in the way the 2D and 3D modes are implemented). Unfortunately, the technique that we use for reparenting decorations does not play nice with GTK/GDK, which is a nightmare of a toolkit to use (hello QT/KDE!), so stability is an issue I need to work on.

On the plugins front there is only one more plugin to go. That’s right, one more – and it’s already half done .

As you can probably see, that plugin is DBus – of which I really know nothing about. I don’t know how long it will take me to do but for one thing or another, progress is still being made and we are still a (fairly) healthy project. I’ll never give up on this 🙂

7 thoughts on “Another status update

  1. Great to see Compiz still alive 😉

    PS.: Do You remember about my little wish to make Wobbly less wobbly? 🙂

  2. Great to see someone so impassioned about keeping compiz going. I still believe it to be one of the most important FOSS projects in existence.

Leave a comment